History

Originally built as the home of William Fithian, the inn dates back to 1663. However, it was not until 1770 when the home was converted into an inn that it gained its name and began an enduring reputation for warmth and welcome. In its many years, the inn has retained much of its original architecture and colonial charm. The steep wooden staircase, exposed ceiling beams and book-lined lounge with antique fireplace are a few of the elements that lend grace and style.